Life As An Independent Contractor: Year 1 Recap 

My first year as an official independent contractor was tough! I put in so much blood, sweat, and tears into owning my business. I am so happy that I took off last summer to do what I always wanted to do. I just want to provide some dope services to the youth ya’ll. On my terms. And it feels good to say that I am doing just that.

I took off last summer to write up exactly what I wanted The I.M.A.N.I. project to be. I have though about it sometime while working in many after school programs. Finally to sit everyday and progress on making your dreams come true. I kept telling myself, it takes money to make money. If I am really going to make this happen, I need to make some sacrifices. Of course I had bills to pay, so I picked a baby sitting gig that paid pretty well. I vowed not to do any summer recreation camps anymore unless they were using a service from The I.M.A.N.I. Project. I did my time. It all paid off in the end.

One of the coolest supervisors of from the past almost took a chance on my business. I was happy just to get a meeting. It didn’t end up working out. But that didn’t stop me. While I was working at Ralph J. Bunche, they needed someone to teach after school. My boss told me it was cool to push my business. I didn’t want to step on toes or anything. It’s a lot of contractors for Alt Ed Schools. But I was able to get my First Contract with Bay Are Community Resources. A non profit I worked for in college. And how I met some of my closest friends. Like all of my 5 friends I have out here though LOL. From then on, I’ve taught a Girl’s Group, Creative Expressions Class, and a College Prep course. I had so much fun and my kids expressed how much they liked the classes. It never felt like a day at work, and that is how I want it to be throughout my career.

I was offered another contract to be the Cyber High Coordinator at Alameda High School. It was so fun. It was an online credit recovery class. I managed all of the students online to complete their credits. Those students worked so hard. I would always say to them they are going to kill online classes in college. It was good practice for them.

The last contract for the year was teaching dance at Green Leaf Elementary School. I worked after school there for BACR. It feels so amazing when your people try to put you on but you’re doing them a solid as well. Glad I have a pretty good reputation from working at as many after school and rec camps to be able to get things rolling. I feel like that’s how it should be. Network and connect your people. It’s simple. Some of the students I used to teach when they were so much younger were in my class. I loved teaching my veterans again. I turned that entire after school program into dancing machine.

Teaching my classes is the fulfilling and fun part. It’s all of the advertising, paperwork, putting in your own money, and finding time to really work on your ideas is what’s hard. Oh and  Especially when you are doing everything on your own. I am thankful someone gave me a chance to bring my business into their schools. I just needed that one yes, so it could open more doors.

I have so many ideas and extensions to The I.M.A.N.I. Project. One that I am focusing on is renting out a dance studio to teach hip hop classes. I want to put on showcases for friends and family of my students. I have taught classes for competition before, but for my dance classes, it’s showcases all the way !

As I am still trying to figure things out along the way, I am so happy to have finally start my business. Shoot! To get business. My goal was to get 1 contract. I got 3 my first year in. I’m even giving people advice on how to start their own business. It takes nothing but research, patience, and passion. You can really make it happen! There is still so much to do. Thank you for those who support what I’m doing. I’d rather be about it, than talk about it. We want to save the youth, I’m providing a way to do so.

The I.M.A.N.I. project

Leave a Reply

