End of Summer Blues

I usually feel so ready for the new school year (work) to begin. Literally, I can only handle one month of summer and then I am completely over it. But this year… I’m not feeling it. Back to school can kiss my butt.

I thought I would be in such a liberated space, ready to advocate for new kids, put on new programs…doing what I do and love. But nahh. That is not the case this time around. My summer was fun and very productive and I was anxious to get back to work. But the hours, pay, and the the extras that come with the job is not okay. So here I am applying for jobs AGAIN and working so hard on The I.M.A.N.I. Project. It’s My exact reason for starting my own youth services program. I know my worth. I know how dope of a youth advocate I am. So even though I have to pay these bills to survive in the Bay, I cannot lose sight on the vision. My vision.

Aside from the dreadful thought of going back to work, this summer I have lived and learned. It feels so good to be able to reflect and learn from life lessons and accept that SHIT HAPPENS. What’s important is how you bounce back.I am learning that everyday. With jobs, friends, family, relationships, life itself, in the midst of getting to know myself, putting on that crown and facing each obstacle with grace screams QUEEN. And I shall act as such in the situations I can’t control and even the ones that I can.  But remain positive and optimistic. Even when it seems impossible to do. Gotta let it go and move on.

B/c sometimes I want to just tell people they are crossing the line with certain things. But mama always told me to let somethings go.

I am so proud that I maintained somewhat of a social life. I went on adventures, hung out with my girls, and networked all through the Bay Area. My reasoning for taking off work for the summer was for me to work on my businesses, which I did. But I need a little fun to get my creative juices flowing. And boyyy do I have some dope things in the works.

This summer, I felt that I got to know myself better. I was able to explore different career options, decipher between my strengths and weaknesses as a person, what I want for my future and how to obtain it. As well as connect with my spiritual side. (Yoga & Meditation) Typical mid 20s crisis, but you would be amazed of how many of us think we need to have it together, and we really don’t. I feel like social media is trying to speed up our lives, comparing them to one another. Social media is the new “virtual society.” We, yes WE are living by unwritten rules that people make behind keyboards. Take YOUR Time and do you. It’s okay that I am taking my time to discover new things to see what sticks as well make a few mistakes just to learn from them. It felt good to take the time to do that exploration. I feel that I am a better me.

I really do not want my summer to end and usually I cannot wait until it’s over. But I want to continue to enjoy my days of working on my businesses. Being in charge of my schedule and the tasks I want to complete each day. Having the freedom to do spontaneous things and not have to schedule it around my day job. But although I have the end of summer blues for the first time ever, I am optimistic that I will land something that I love to do and pay my bills, as well as work on both Eccentric Vibes and The I.M.A.N.I. Project.

Clean slate.

I'm starting over. A new pattern of thoughts. A new wave of emotions. A new connection to the world. A new belief system in myself.

 

Leave a Reply

