Home is where your heart is

This last week I have had the pleasure of showing my friend from back home a good time while he worked in the Bay, and also my mom visiting me at the peak of her vacation. All I can say was….it was LIT! I usually don’t go out because well…I am sort of a workaholic and I don;t have many friends to go out with. So when people from back home come to visit, I have an excuse to get my party on. My friend and I enjoyed a night in Oakland (Uptown) to be exact. We waited in line to go to Somar for a minute then realized waiting to get in that place was not that serious. So we left after waiting in line for about 30 mins and discovered the cutest outside bar that served beer and wine. The classiness is what drove us to go.ย  The vibe was so dope. The lighning was nice, they had heaters on, and a little fireplace where you could fit about 10 people around to sit and enjoy it. I got white wine and he enjoyed a beer. There was a dj upstairs playing some type of classical elevator music. At first I was not feeling it, then I took a sip of my wine and was on. What made it even better was the dj was playing actual records. It was so nice. His last night out here we chilled at my studio and talked about our business dreams. We both are working on being independent contractors so the conversation was nothing but good vibes. Sharing ideas, finishing each other’s sentences, etc. We later went to the bar downstairs from my studio. I usually never go, like at all. But I really should because the music is always good and the drinks are so cheap. We went and had a drink, talked, and vibed to the music. They really took it back to the songs I used to turn up to in high school and we both looked at each other and instantly started turning up lol. Such a great night. I totally needed it. I wish there were genuine people I could do things like that with but nahhh. Still haven’t found my crowd.

My mom came out here on Saturday for the start of her vacation. She came down on a good weekend because I actually had events to go to and she could accompany me. Usually she comes down and there is always work to be done. This time was different. I went to the Malcolm X Jazz Festival, somewhere I have been trying yo go and experience for years. I got to enjoy my first time with my mom. We had a ball. It was soo many beautiful souls out there celebrating Malcolm X who happens to be one of my heroes. We walked around and looked at the booths. The majority of the booths we walked by my mom was explaining to me how to do the crafts that everyone was selling. All of the afrocentric accersories were beautiful! I love to see black people thrive and make beautiful wearbale art that connects us to our roots, our culture. The fact that so many different people were out there coming together for great cause and good time was the best part. I ran into some friends from college as well as some of the students I have worked with over the years. We weren’t there long. Just to look at the booths and enjoy the music. Such a powerful festival.ย  After the festival, we went to Berkeley to eat at King Yen. Just to feed our tummies and pass time before the next event. We headed back to Oakland (Downtown). My bro Leair had invited me to another showcase put on by Arc Oakland. I finally arrived on time to this event because usually I am always late. Got there on time, and the event wasn’t ready. It was cold outside too, so I was kind of annoyed at first. They told us the wait outside would be 15 minutes. We eneded up waiting a good 30. But it was w=okay because I ran into one of my friends and she was also there for the show. So we chopped it up outside until it was time to go in. Leair’s family also had to wait so we did the introduction of families. Nothing but good vibes and laughs as we waitied to enter Marshawn Lynch’s store. (where the event was located) We walked inside and some of th setup was prepared. Beautiful art, tshirt lines, and pastries. When I walked in, I happened to see one of my old students and found out that she would be performing spoken word. (Heyyy Azariah!) Funny thing was I was just talking to her that morning via Instagram about how beautiful she looked at prom. Then Kablam ! She was there lol. She had 3 new poems she had just written and was going to perform. I was so excited to see her. She is the true definition of a queen. So young, yet so involved, and before her time. The DJ was 16 years old playing nothing but great old school hits. So when Accension by Maxwell came on, I saw my mom jamming in her seat, I got her up, and we started 2 steping across the floor. You could totally tell that’s where I get my moves from and that we are from SoCal. We have a different bounce than Bay Area people. It was soo fun! When the show started, it was a beautiful young woman rapping and jammin with the band. Her mesage was so positive. She got the crowd involved as well. Someone who genuinely loves Oakland. Next up was my student doing her spoken word. So young up there capturing the attention of older people because her words were so powerful and full of love, hate, anger, etc. Her poems moved the entire crowd…of the black struggle. Up next was Leair. He blew the crowd away with his guitar. Singing songs off of his EP as well as a song that was not on there “I used to be ratchet.” While performing more people started to come to the event. But they brought the noise with them unfortunately. Rude people talking and getting louder as he was singing. I hit them with that movies “shhhhhh” Then I saw how annoyed my mom was too. I whispered to my homegirl that “I bet my mom is going to get up and tell them to quiet down.” 2 seconds later, she was up and dashed across the floosr torwards the back and told them to be quiet. It started to get quieter but there were still some people that didn’t know how to simmer down. It was hilarious! Momma mode is always in affect. Leair did amazing as usual. Giving us a taste of that good ol 90s r&b and soul music with actual instruments. That is why I love his music. Not just because he is my bro, but that he is so humble about his craft. There was a quick intermission and people began to mingle and the bar opened up. The event really started to get be lit! Those three acts got the party started. The last act of the night that I saw was a man singing r&b music. I was jaaammmiiinnnn! The woman standing next to me was the sister of the perfromer. We was getting our 2 step on. Then we decided to get the electric slide started because thats what the music made you want to do. I had a ball ! such a good night. Now I have connected with Arc Oakland I will be helping getting more youth to show off their art. On Sunday my mom and I had a relaxing day. I paid for us to get our nails done, then she dyed my hair, and watched the game. For dinner we went for sushi and I invited my boyfriend so my mom could see him before she left. It was such a great day. I love spending time with my mom. She doesn’t come up here often but when she does, she always gives me that taste of home that I need. Because that is really where my heart is.

image
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
image

image

image

Leave a Reply

