That’s a Wrap 2015!

Another year down, another year to embark greatness !

As I scroll through my gallery on my phone those late nights Kris falls asleep on me because he has to be at work sooo early in the morning, I am always reminded of the moments 2015 has brought me. This year has been a year of growth and so much peace, I wouldn’t have done anything different.

The biggest achievement this year for me was graduating from California State University East Bay with my B.A. in Sociology with an Option in Social Services and a minor in African American Studies. Five years of the headaches, money problems, parties, late night study sessions, homesickness, social awkwardness is finally over. But it was worth it. Well sort of. Let me rephrase, it will be worth it. You just hit a few road blocks along the way determining if your degree means something to employers. Aside from that… Having my degree opens so many doors to do so many things. The passion I have to work with at risk youth is such a great feeling. There is not a day that goes by that I am not thinking about event planning, programs, workshops, etc for youth and how to execute my ideas. Now I have the key to success. No matter what an employer says. One thing I learned in college is networking. I’ve had so many jobs working with youth before receiving my degree, that the connections I made will have me set for future projects. But all in all, I’m going back to school to get my masters. I was against it at first, but living in the Bay Area you aren’t going to make enough money to survive unless you have a masters. Just until I get my own programs up and running. SOON. #goals
#blackgradsmatter

image
image

I had the pleasure of going on an all expense paid week log graduation vacation t S. Lucia courtesy of my dad. Yup he’s the greatest ever ! I mean I didn’t pay a dime. My dad had the entire trip decked out and ready with a dope itinerary. The only thing that was a big downer on the trip was getting bit all day and all night. I had knots on my elbows, forehead, thighs, and back. But it was still an amazing experience. That trip made me realize when you work hard, it’s okay to reward yourself, let loose, and have fun. This trip was the gateway to my traveling adventures and I am so ready !

Pics from St. Lucia
image
image

image
image

image

image

image

Being a starving college student I didn’t travel as much as I anticipated on doing. I planned on visiting all of my girlfriends colleges since we were all separated throughout the U.S. Sooo… that didn’t happen until after I graduated. I got to visit one of my closest friends at Clark Atlanta University. Although I was only there for the weekend, it gave me so much life ! The fact I was there during Luda Day Weekend added a little icing to the cake. Her friends welcomed me with open arms and they all made sure I was comfortable and having a good time. Which I was, I was in ATLANTA! Seen a little bit of Morehouse, Spellman, Georgetown, and of Clark of course. It was such a beautiful and humbling experience.Β  Being amongst so many black people who have the same aspirations as you and grinding together under one institution getting it. Nothing but Black Excellence.

Pics from Atlanta
image

image

image

image

Something that is going to take time and I have realized that is starting a business. I started a small online boutique but rushed things. I can make things still happen but it takes time and dedication. I was so busy working and not perfecting my craft, that it wasn’t good enough to present to the world. Juggling 600 projects and not executing is something I’m working on in 2016. One thing at a time. The same with my online boutique. One thing at a time…ONE FOCUS. Now that I am a bit wiser, I will be able to create and be more organized. I can’t wait until you guys see what I have in store. It will be small, but my ideas are big!

Eccentricvibes.bigcartel.com COMING SOON!
image

It’s not a dope year if I don’t attend any concerts. This year was a great year for music and shows! I went to see Erykah Badu live and I have been waiting forever for that moment! Of course she had a live band and they were jammin. So many different people. Just an entire crown of young, old, white, black, lgbt, hippies, soulsters, etc vibin to some of the greatest soul music composed. I also witnessed her spin as DJ Lo Down Loretta Brown and boy was she goovin. Hella ol schol r&b and hip hop. But of course she played some of today’s music.
image

image

Big K.R.I.T. is another artist I always wanted see and I got to witness pure dopeness! He was entirely hype throughout the show. He had a live band as well. The concert space was very small but I was standing next to some cool people that understood short people problems. They were letting me get in front of them making sure I could see. Then for the rest of the night we vibed to K.R.I.T. and special guest BJ Tha Chicago Kid. Now, mind you, I’ve heard of his name before but never gave his music a chance. That night, he instantly became one of my favorite artist. His voice is so soulful. The instruments he uses in his music are so melodic you get lost in it. And that is what happened the entire night. Good vibes and great music.

Big K.R.I.T
image

image

Bj Tha Chicago Kid
image

image

This year I learned to make your dreams come true, no one else’s. I had many jobs this year. All were not a good fit. I didn’t even stay long enough to see. The kids I got to work with this year brought me nothing but stress and joy. But the supervision I was under was unbearable. My last 2 jobs I had supervisors who did nothing but micromanage me. I couldn’t take it, plus the low pay… I had to quit. But now I’m on the hunt again to find a new job. I have landed a tutoring job but I need something else as well. Ya’ll just don’t understand this expensive bay area living. In college I did a internship with Reality Mentor Inc ran by the President of the NAACP South Alameda Chapter, they hired me to be the Mentor Assistant Coordinator. Possibly being the actual coordinator because she likes my ideas on how I want to revamp the program as well as starting a Youth program. With all of these opportunities I won’t have to work for anyone and I can run my own program with RMI as a platform and connections with the NAACP. Kids are the future! Hood hero coming through!

Diy Tutu
image

image

San Francisco state College tour
image

image

image

Diy gingerbread houses
image

image

POP sicle stick mosaic
image

Nature Art
image

image

All in all this year has been full of ups and downs smiles and frowns. I lived and I learned. Now time to go into 2016 with positive vibes, determined mindset, and speak things into existence. Boutique, youth program, fitness license, travel adventures, new friends, I’m coming for you !!
image

image
2015 … that’s a wrap!

Leave a Reply

